It’s been a while…let’s talk

Hello everyone! It’s been years, I know, but I’m back, and I couldn’t be happier to be here with you all, screams? It’s been what, 3 years? I’ve been missing you guys like crazy; life has been a complete train wreck for the most part, but we’re here, and I’m excited about this blog. This time around I’m giving you guys more electrifying topics, celebrity news, Nicki Minaj, hi barbz, poetry, and all that good stuff, and most importantly, I want to connect with you more, after all you’re family and this blog wouldn’t have been possible without my WordPress fam, and I thank you, from the bottom of my heart, for the warm support. Being in the moment, embracing life and doing something I truly enjoy has been such a fulfilling and rewarding experience.

Writing is one of the most awe-inspiring mediums of expression and an art form. You have writing—words—along with sculpture, painting, architecture, dance, music, and photography. Words have the power to convey what the voice cannot articulate; they can take you to magical kingdoms, ancient cities, across continents, and places you’ve only ever imagined visiting. Since I was a little girl, I’ve always valued the art of writing. My love for writing started to blossom ever since I met some of the finest educators in the field, who helped me realize my passion. Besides, I’d love to write and publish my very own Children’s book depicting the kaleidoscopic lens of Jamaican culture and its rich history. I’m also desirous of becoming a renowned and best-selling Children’s book writer, so I want to be one of the best and most successful writers Jamaica has ever produced. As a small nation we are inexhaustibly blessed with so many gifted young people, stories, folktales, proverbs, legends and scholars, and I feel that we have so much more to show the world. “We lickle but we tallawah”.

THE DREADED WRITER’S BLOCK

So you know, one of my biggest fears is literally sitting in front of a BLANK SCREEN. I power up my laptop with this phenomenal idea in my head, open Word and this blank screen comes up, no words yet, but I have this genius idea, so how do I translate this mind-blowing idea to words on screen? I immediately freeze like literally freeze, my entire body goes into complete panic mode; I’m not even exaggerating…it’s quite scary right? Nevertheless, my number one advice to writers or aspiring writers is that whenever you’re feeling conflicted about where to start, which direction should you take or you feel that idea is just not coming to fruition, JUST WRITE!!!!!, whatever word or thought comes to mind, JUST WRITE!!!!! it doesn’t matter. You have to start from somewhere, and I always carry this thought with me, no matter where you are in life, you have to start somewhere, you never know where life takes you. I also want to add that there are different stages of the writing process, and writing really does take a lot of planning and systematic approach. However, there are some people like myself who just gets in front of the computer and just write, and the truth is, just do whatever works best for you; everyone has their strengths and weaknesses.

And that’s it for today…. see you guys in the next post!

Be sure to follow me on Twitter @lovemesomeshan

2 thoughts on “It’s been a while…let’s talk

Leave a comment